How the dream came to be.

In my personal statement I opened with the line: “My fascination of the universe began by watching Startrek and Stargate with my Dad.” Now honestly, I’m not sure if this is entirely true, however the idea of travelling to distant planets and time travel is definitely appealing.

As a little girl I went to private school. I adored music, and art, and history, maths was scary because we had this terrifying Scottish woman who always looked like she was about to throw the board rubber at us. Physics was utterly dire, with the worst woman teaching it and she hadn’t a clue of what she was doing. So Astrophysics was obviously out of the question.

Then I moved school to the lovely town of Burford where I had a short little very loud man by the name of Mr Blower as my new physics teacher. He knew what he was talking about. And since that moment, Astrophysics was a little bit less out of the question.

Next I moved to Hawick (pronounced Hoik) and for some reason ended up doing Advanced Higher Physics and somehow managed to get an A despite getting a B for Higher Physics. I can’t recollect when I decided to do Astrophysics, but maths really appealed to me, and still does, even more so than physics. But I just can’t escape being enthralled by the universe and the stars, dark matter, dark energy, string theory, the origin of the universe… I would have loved to have been an explorer of Earth a few hundred years ago, but now that pretty much all of it has been discovered, so it makes sense to be exploring what’s up and out there beyond the clouds.

So here I am. My maths teacher pushed me to apply for Cambridge, and I’m glad I did because it was a great experience. But I couldn’t be happier with the fact that I’m going to St Andrews, it couldn’t possibly be any more perfect.

I hope that my brain hasn’t completely lost the plot after travelling half the world for a year (www.miffyanddougle.tk) and that I can quickly get it back into shape. I also hope that I can cope with Astrophysics when it actually comes to learning it and doing lots of complicated equations, but we shall just have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

